“Disable” Onedrive sync option


If you’ve installed Office 365 (2013) on your terminal server, where the users have roaming profiles, you most likely dont want your users to sync their Onedrive to their profile. There is no good way to disable this feature, and your users should be able to use their Onedrive, it’s a great service.

The first time a user saves a document to Onedrive, through let’s say Word, they will be asked if they want to configure sync for Onedrive. Of course, the users will do this. To disable this message, essentially disabling the possiblity to choose to sync, you can add the following two reg keys:

HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Office\15.0\Common\Internet\FirstSkydriveProOpenSave, DWORD, 0
HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Office\15.0\Common\Internet\LcfemCleanShutdown, DWORD, 0

With these keys set, the users will not get the question, therefor not be able to sync!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *